Daily Pro Wrestling History (06/26): Muhammad Ali vs. Antonio Inoki


St. Louis, Missouri:
– Dick Shikat defeated Jim Clinstock
– Rudy Dusek defeated Jack Washburn
– Joe “Toots” Mondt 
– Charles Strack went to a time limit draw


– Everett Marshall defeated Ali Baba for the NWA (National Wrestling Association) Heavyweight Wrestling Title


Kansas City, Kansas:
– World Heavyweight Champion Lee Wykoff defeated Orville Brown in 2 out of 3 falls
– Jack Kennedy beat Steve Brody in 2 out of 3 falls 
– Joe Cox beat Rudy Strongberg


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Orville Brown beat Jack McDonald to retain the MWA Title
– Wally Dusek beat Fred Blassie
– Tug Carlson beat Ralph Garibaldi 
– Jack Hader beat Jack Page


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– AWA Champion Mr. M beat Larry Hennig
– Verne Gagne & Doug Gilbert beat Bob Geigel & Crybaby Cannon 
– Joe Scarpello beat Stan Kowalski


Denver, Colorado:
– AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Fritz von Erich by DQ
– The Crusher beat Art Thomas
– Wahoo McDaniel beat Mitsu Arakawa 
– Larry Hennig beat Doug Gilbert


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Verne Gagne beat AWA Champion Mad Dog Vachon on a 3rd fall countout
– The Crusher beat Chris Markoff
– Mighty Igor Vodik beat Harley Race
– Larry Hennig beat Ivan Kalmikoff 
– Wilbur Snyder beat Pampero Firpo by DQ


El Paso, Texas:
– AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat The Medics
– Light Heavyweight Champion Gory Guerrero beat Jerry Kozak
– North American Champion Dory Funk Jr. beat Thunderbolt Patterson 
– Texas Women’s Champion Kay Noble beat Pat Howard


Minneapolis,  Minnesota:
– Verne Gagne & Bill Watts beat Larry Hennig & Harley Race in 2 out of 3 falls
– Wilbur Snyder beat Dr X 2-0 
– Man Mountain Mike beat Big K 
– Dutch Savage beat Frankie Laine

Honolulu, Hawaii:
– Peter Maivia and Billy White Wolf defeated Curtis Iaukea and Ripper Collins to win the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Titles


Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
– In a Loser Leaves Town Match; The Crusher beat Strong Kobayashi
– Nick Bockwinkel beat Bull Bullinski
– Larry Hennig & Lars Anderson beat Moose Cholak & Paul Diamond
– Don Muraco beat Black Jack Lanza by DQ 
– Big K beat Bill Howard

Chicago, Illinois:
– AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez beat Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon
– Baron Von Raschke beat Wilbur Snyder
– Hans Schmidt beat Sailor Art Thomas
– Billy Robinson beat Angelo Poffo

Honolulu, Hawaii:
– Ripper Collins and Mad Dog Mayne defeated Sunni War Cloud and Steven Little Bear for the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Titles


Tampa, Florida:
– Johnny Valentine defeated Ron Fuller for the Florida version of the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title 


Tokyo, Japan:
– Antonio Inoki defeated Tiger Jeet Singh to win the National Wrestling Federation World Heavyweight Title


Tokyo, Japan: 

– Antonio Inoki and Muhammad Ali fought to a 15 round draw


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
– Bret Hart defeated Leo Burke to win the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title

Salt Lake City, Utah:
– AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum by DQ 
– Sheik Adnan beat Baron Von Raschke
– Jerry Blackwell beat Brad Rheingans 
– Buck Zumhofe beat Jacques Goulet

San Juan, Puerto Rico:
– Invader I and Pierre Martel defeated The Kangaroos (Don Kent and Johnny Heffernan) for the WWC World Tag Team Titles


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– The Sheik’s Army (Jerry Blackwell and Ken Patera) defeated The High Flyers (Jim Brunzell and Greg Gagne) to win the AWA World Tag Team Titles
– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Wahoo McDaniel
– Baron Von Raschke no contest Blackjack Lanza
– Bobby Heenan beat Kenny Jay
– Buck Zumhofe beat Mr. Saito by DQ 
– Brad Rheingans drew Rick Martel


Dallas, Texas:
– Frank Lancaster and Eric Embry defeated The Fantastics (Tommy Rogers and Bobby Fulton) to win the World Class Tag Team Titles


Tokyo, Japan:
– Bull Nakano defeated Yumiko Hotta in the finals of the fourth-annual AJW Grand Prix Tournament 


Wichita, Kansas:
– Steve Austin defeated Sam Houston (sub. for Tim Horner)
– Big Josh defeated Joey Maggs (sub. for Black Blood)
– Sting defeated Arn Anderson (sub. for Dan Spivey) via disqualification
– Rick Steiner fought Jimmy Garvin to a double countout
– Tom Zenk defeated the Diamond Studd
– Bobby Eaton & Dustin Rhodes defeated Terry Taylor & Richard Morton
– WCW US Champion Lex Luger & Sting defeated Arn Anderson & Barry Windham


Tokyo, Japan:

– Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Yamamoto defeated Koji Kanemoto & Osamu Nishimura
– Super Strong Machine pinned Chris Benoit
– Kokina & Samu defeated Scott Norton & Killer Bee (B. Brian Blair) 
– El Samurai pinned IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion Jushin Liger to win the title
– The Great Muta & Hiroshi Hase defeated the Black Cat & Takayuki Iizuka 
– Hiroshi Hase pinned Kensuke Sasaki 
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick and Scott Steiner) defeated Big Van Vader and Bam Bam Bigelow to win the IWGP World Tag Team Titles
– Riki Choshu pinned Masahiro Chono


Roanoke, Virgina:
– 2 Cold Scorpio & Marcus Alexander Bagwell defeated Tex Slazenger & Shanghai Pierce 
– Jim Neidhart pinned the Italian Stallion 
– Ron Simmons pinned Wrecking Crew Rage
– Dustin Rhodes pinned Big Sky (sub. for WCW World Champion Big Van Vader) 
– Sting & Davey Boy Smith defeated Lord Steven Regal & Dick Slater (sub. for NWA World Champion Barry Windham & WCW TV Champion Paul Orndorff)
– Ric Flair & Arn Anderson defeated WCW/NWA Tag Team Champions Steve Austin & Brian Pillman in a non-title match


Sapporo, Japan:
– Yoshiko Tamura defeated Misae Watanabe for the vacant AJW Junior Title

Memphis, Tennessee:
– Billy Jack Haynes defeated Brian Christopher for the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title 


Tokyo, Japan:
– Masato Tanaka, Kouji Nakagawa and Tetsuhiro Kuroda defeated Super Leather and The Headhunters to win the FMW World Street Fight Six-Man Tag Team Titles


New York City:
– Albert (A-Train) defeated Kane for the WWF Intercontinental Title


ROH Best of the World: New York City:
– Davey Richards defeated Eddie Edwards to win the ROH World Title 
– El Generico defeated Christopher Daniels to win the ROH TV Title
– ROH Tag Team Champions Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin defeated Kings of Wrestling (with Sara del Rey and Shane Hagadorn), The Briscoes and The All Night Express to retain the titles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *