Daily Pro Wrestling History (10/08): Steve Austin defeats Kurt Angle for WWF title


Wichita, Kansas:
– Lenny Montana defeated David Sims to win the Heart of America Title (Title would be renamed Central States Title)


Kansas City, Missouri:
– Stan Neilson & Art Neilson defeated George Scott & Sandy Scott
– Texas Death Match: Dick the Bruiser defeated The Sheik by countout


Duluth, Minnesota:
– Cage Match: Baron Von Raschke beat Billy Robinson
– Pampero Firpo beat Buddy Wolff
– Jimmy Valiant & Johnny Valiant beat Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell in 2 out of 3 falls


Dallas, Texas:
– Evelyn Stevens defeated The Fabulous Moolah for the NWA Women’s World Heavyweight Title 


Tampa, Florida:
– Barry Windham defeated Outlaw Ron Bass to win the vacant Florida State Heavyweight Title 


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Jerry Lawler won a 21-man tournament by defeating Austin Idol in the finals to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title 


Montgomery, Alabama:
– The York Foundation (Terrance Taylor, Richard Morton, & Thomas Rich), managed by Alexandra York (Terri Runnels) defeated Dustin Rhodes, Tom Zenk, & Big Josh (Matt Borne) to win the WCW World Six-Man Tag Team Title 


Knoxville, Tennessee:
– The Bullet defeated Killer Kyle
– SMW Tag Team Champions Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson fought Scott & Steve Armstrong to a no contest
– SMW Heavyweight Champion Brian Lee defeated Tracy Smothers 
– Tom Prichard & Jimmy Del Ray at w/ Jim Cornette) defeated Rick & Scott Steiner via disqualification


Johnson City, Tennessee:
– Boo Bradley defeated Lance Storm
– Bruiser Bedlam defeated SMW Heavyweight Champion the Dirty White Boy via disqualification in a whipping match
– SMW Tag Team Champions New Jack & Mustafa defeated Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson in a No DQ, no time-limit match


Indianapolis, Indiana: 
– Steve Austin defeated Kurt Angle to win the WWF World Title
– The Hardys defeated Booker T and Test to win the WCW Tag Team Titles


Tijuana, Mexico:
– L.A. Park beat Nicho to win the XLAW heavyweight title

Arena Mexico:
– Universo 2000 beat Canek in the finals of the Leyenda de Azul tournament 


Tokyo, Japan:
– Brock Lesnar won a three-way over Kazuyuki Fujita and Masahiro Chono to win the IWGP heavyweight title 
– Black Tiger (Rocky Romero) beat Tiger Mask to win the IWGP jr. title


Morioka, Japan:
– Great Sasuke beat Super Delfin to win the Tohoku jr. title

WWE No Mercy: Raleigh, North Carolina:
– WWE Champion Booker T defeated Bobby Lashley, Batista and Fit Finlay to retain the title
– Rey Mysterio defeated Chavo Guerrero in a falls count anywhere match
– Chris Benoit defeated William Regal


Tokyo, Japan:
– Hiroshi Tanahashi beat Yuji Nagata to win the IWGP heavyweight title


Tokyo, Japan:
– The Motor City Machine Guns, Alex Shelley and Chris Sabin, defeated Yujiro and Tetsuya Naito to win the IWGP Jr. Tag Team Titles
– Team 3-D, Bubba and D-Von, defeated Togi Makabe and Toru Yano to win the IWGP Tag Titles


Tokyo, Japan:
– Lance Archer & Davey Boy Smith Jr. beat Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Tenzan to win the IWGP tag titles


Yokohama, Japan:
– KENTA (Hideo Itami) & Maybach Taniguchi beat Magnus & Samoa Joe to win the GHC tag titles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *