Reds name unchanged starting XV

Queensland Reds coach Nick Stiles has named an unchanged starting XV to take on the Western Force in Perth on Thursday night.

Stiles was pleased with his team’s output in last Friday’s win against the Sharks and has made just one change to the 23-man squad.

Taniela Tupou will come off the bench in place of Markus Vanzati after serving his two-game suspension and impressing in a 40 minute cameo for Brothers in their loss to Norths in the Australian Club Championship at Crosby Park on Saturday.The Force were stoic in their loss to the Waratahs on Saturday night and Stiles said some fresh challenges lay ahead.

“We were pleased to get the win at home in Round 1, but this week presents a fresh challenge,” he said.

“We know there’s plenty of work to do.“This is our first away trip of the season and also our first Australian derby.

“It’s an important match and no doubt both teams will be fighting hard for a win.

“It’s always an arm wrestle against the Force.”


Queensland Reds team to take on the Western Force at nib Stadium

1. James Slipper (C)

2. Stephen Moore

3. Sam Talakai

4. Rob Simmons

5. Kane Douglas

6. Adam Korczyk

7. George Smith

8. Scott Higginbotham

9. Nick Frisby

10. Quade Cooper

11. Eto Nabuli

12. Duncan Paia’aua

13. Samu Kerevi

14. Chris Kuridrani

15. Karmichael Hunt


16. Andrew Ready

17. Sef Fa’agase

18. Taniela Tupou

19. Izack Rodda

20. Hendrik Tui

21. James Tuttle

22. Jake McIntyre

23. Izaia Perese (Potential Queensland/Super Rugby debut)

The Reds take on the Force on Thursday, kicking off at 9:30pm AEDT, broadcast live on Fox Sports 1 Channel 501.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *